Finding quality, affordable Florida car insurance doesn't have to be difficult. There are many options available when it comes to Florida car insurance. When navigating the multitude of choices, it is important to know what the state requires so that you make sure you find an auto insurance policy that meets all the requirements.
The sunshine state has a financial responsibility law. This means that a person who has a vehicle must prove to the state that they will be financially responsible should something happen that damages another person's vehicle or property or hurts a person physically. This law is in place so that someone who isn't responsible isn't left footing the bills.
Though there are other options to proving your financial responsibility such as depositing cash with the Florida Department of Insurance, obtaining car insurance is the easiest way to prove you are responsible. Without establishing this, you cannot legally drive in this state and will be subject to fines, jail time, and lose of driving license should you be involved in an accident or traffic stop.
Coverage You Must Carry
In Florida, as soon as you get plates for your vehicle you must carry insurance. Also, this is a No-Fault state. That means that when two individuals are involved in an accident each person's insurance company covers their damage regardless of who is at fault. This is why it is required that everyone has insurance. It also drastically reduces the incidents of suing that may take place if another person has to pay for damage to your vehicle.
In order to fulfill all the requirements of state laws, you must carry $10,000 bodily injury liability for one person and $20,000 for two or more people. For property damage liability you must carry $10,000 and $30,000 in combined single limits. If there is no bodily injury in an accident there still must be coverage. Those amounts are $10,000 in personal injury protection per person or per crash and $10,000 property damage liability per crash.
You must carry proof of your auto insurance policy with you. Simply put the insurance ID card somewhere in the vehicle so you have it with you should you need it. If you cannot show proof of insurance at the site of an accident or traffic stop you could have your license suspended until you provide proof.
Not only is it the law, but there also are fees that must be paid in order to end the suspension of your license. These fees can be up to $500. In any state, when people do not have proof of insurance it goes into a database which can be one of the causes of increased car insurance rates.
Florida car insurance isn't hard to find when you know the requirements. Getting a car insurance rate quote can help you find the car insurance that is right for you at a price you can afford.