Kansas car insurance regulations rank teen drivers a higher risk for filing an accident claim. They are new to driving and may lack the experience and good judgment that a more mature driver has. To help keep young drivers and other people on the road safer, Kansas, along with 43 other states and the District of Columbia, has adopted a system of graduated licensing for new drivers.
How Graduated Licensing Works
Graduated licensing is a system used to help new drivers gain experience on the road while restricting the circumstances under which they can drive, rather than grant them full driving privileges from the moment they pass their driving test. According to statistics released by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, over 40 percent of fatal accidents involving teen drivers took place between 9 p.m. and 6 a.m. For this reason, night driving is restricted until the new driver gains some valuable experience.
Graduated Driver's Licensing Requirements
A teen driver in Kansas can get a learner's permit at the age of 14. A restricted license may be issued to a person who is at least 16 years of age. In addition, the person must meet these conditions:
Restrictions on a new licensed driver in the state are as follows:
These restrictions may be lifted after six months and when the teen driver is over the age of 16. Drivers who are under the age of 16 may be granted a restricted license if they have completed a driver's education course. This is a good idea for all young drivers, and may qualify the teen for a discount on the cost of Kansas car insurance.
A person who is under 16 and has been issued a restricted license may only drive to and from work or school. They are prohibited from carrying minor passengers in the vehicle other than their siblings.
Car Insurance for Teens
When you are looking for insurance for your teen driver, you will want to compare rates from several insurance providers. Get a quote from the insurance company you are presently dealing with first. You may be able to get a break in the cost of premiums by having multiple policies with the same company.
The graduated licensing system was put in place by the creators of Kansas car insurance laws to help keep teen drivers safe by giving them time to develop their driving skills. Be sure to tell your insurance company or agent where your teen is in the graduated licensing process when you are discussing your coverage options.