You are required to carry a certain minimum level of coverage for Oklahoma car insurance if you want to drive legally in this state. The penalties for driving without this coverage in OK can be severe. You want to ensure that you have continuous coverage on your vehicle to avoid these penalties.
Oklahoma Car Insurance Minimum Liability Levels
The Oklahoma Department of Insurance sets certain mimimums; drivers are required to carry at least $25,000 in liability insurance for one individual injured in an accident where you are the at-fault driver and $50,000 in liability coverage for all people injured in an accident, no matter how many injured parties there are. You are also required to have $25,000 in property damage insurance to pay for damage to the other vehicle, fences, sheds, buildings, or street signs.
Proof of Insurance Required
If you are asked to provide proof of insurance and are unable to do so, you may be required to pay a fine of up to $250 or spend 30 days in jail. The judge has the option of ordering both penalties on sentencing. Your driver's license and registration will be suspended if you are in violation of the mandatory car insurance law or you fail to produce proof of insurance when asked to do so by a police officer.
Having continuous Oklahoma car insurance coverage is important, and the state takes this matter very seriously. If your Oklahoma auto insurance policy is cancelled within the first six months after being issued, the insurer is obligated to report this fact to the Department of Public Safety. The Department of Public Safety will contact you by mail to ask you to provide proof of insurance.
You are given 30 days to comply with the Department's request. Failure to do so will mean that your driver's license and vehicle registration will be suspended. Make sure that your insurance company always has your current address on file. It is easy to overlook these kinds of details when you are caught up in the throes of moving, but it's important to keep your contact information up to date with your insurer.
Overlooking this detail may result in your driver's license and registration being suspended without your knowledge. Driving without insurance may result in criminal penalties. Your license and registration will be suspended until you pay a penalty and produce proof of insurance.
Another consequence of a lapse in your Oklahoma car insurance policy is that you will not have financial protection if you are involved in an accident. Without insurance, you will be responsible for paying for medical and other expenses of people in the other vehicle who sustain injuries. Keep in mind that insurance companies do consider whether you have had any lapses in coverage when determining your level of risk and your rates. You are far better off taking the time to have your insurer update their records if you decide to move.