Sign up Login

2012 Ford Fiesta

Posted: 01/05/2012 - 8:49 PM ET

Compact cars usually don’t get our adrenaline pumping. They are cute little college-kid cars – they’re cheap to buy, cheap to fuel, and generally adequate as starter cars. They are practical, but the 2012 Ford Fiesta gives drivers a super compact car with a well-received, new, sportier personality.

This year’s Fiesta is not only about practicality. It also adds a bit of fun too. The Fiesta is powered by a 1.6-liter inline 4-cylinder engine, that kicks out a meager 120 horsepower and 112 lb-ft of torque. It has a five-speed manual standard transmission, but also offers an optional six-speed tranny. The Fiesta will go to 60 mph in an excruciating 9.5 seconds and Ford estimates its fuel economy at 30 mpg city / 40 mpg highway for the automatic and 29 city / 38 highway for the manual.

Of course, small cars make some drivers nervous. Can anything that small actually be safe? The answer is yes. The Fiesta’s safety features include stability and traction controls, anti-lock disk brakes, side airbags in the front seat, side curtain airbags and, a feature not found anywhere among other subcompacts, a driver’s knee airbag.

The Ford Fiesta earned an overall score of four out of five stars in this year’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration crash testing. It scored four stars for front-crash protection and five stars overall for side-crash protection. The IIHS (Insurance Institute for Highway Safety) gave this compact car a rating of “good” for the way it stood up to frontal-offset and side-impact collisions. In brake tests, it came to a complete stop from 60 mph in a brief 119 feet.

The newest Fiesta has four doors in both the sedan and hatchback model. There are three trim packages for the sedan – S, SE, and SEL – and two trims for the hatchback - the SE and the SES.

The most basic model, the S sedan comes with 15-inch steel wheels, power mirrors, a tilting, telescoping steering wheel, a four-speaker AM/FM stereo that has an auxiliary input jack and USB port for your MP3 player. This model also features a split-folding rear seat. If you add power windows and door locks, a CD player and throw in a few metallic cockpit accents, then you have the SE.

To this, the SEL sedan adds a rear spoiler, 16-inch premium painted wheels and a more upscale sound system which includes satellite radio and two extra speakers. There’s also ambient lighting, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, as well as the SYNC infotainment system, which offers hands-free calling and other cabin controls through simple voice commands.

The SE Hatchback is appointed very much like the SE sedan, but adds a rear-window wiper and a spoiler. The SES Hatchback mimics the SEL Sedan but comes with a rear-window wiper as well. Other optional features such as keyless entry/ignition, heated front seats and leather seating can be added for an additionl cost.

Even the most finicky and critical members of the automotive media find the new Ford Fiesta to have a surprisingly sporty, responsive feel, a quiet cabin and a surprising array of paint colors, which are just as spicy and exotic as the Fiesta itself. If you want a small car that doesn’t scream cheap, take a long look at Fords new Fiesta, you may be pleasantly surprised.



More Ford Fiesta reviews:
2011
New Car Dealers
Used Car Dealers
Car Rentals
Car Insurance
Guest
guest avatar
Posted on: September 14, 2013 at 6:26 PM
A jak twoim zdaniem wdaglya profesjonalna naprawa skoro to jest prymityw?? W Polsce nie takie rzeczy sie naprawia, nawet najbardziej zmasakrowane auto teoretycznie mozna doprowadzic do stanu sprzed wypadku. Pisze teoretycznie bo czesto technologia jakiej trzeba uzyc jest nieoplacalna. Najgorsze jest to ze ten samochod pewnie sprzedano jako bazwypadkowy Nie krytykuj blacharzy, oni tylko wykonuja swoja prace i w tym przypadku zrobili to naprawde niezle:)
0
Flag for Abuse|
Guest
guest avatar
Posted on: September 15, 2013 at 4:57 PM
What are you even What are you even doing here? Don't you realize that Ford never <a href="http://jkwruozuj.com">cmaield</a> huge power out of the 2010 GT? Apparently all the 09 GTs needed anyway was a new intake to match up to the big bad SS. Shame seems a whole 15 hp is all it takes to trounce GM. The only thing more embarrassing than the Camaro's inefficiency is your knowledge of autos. Know why Chevy put a big engine in the Camaro? Penis envy. Yet, the 4.6 comes out on top. See, man? don't feel bad, small things can get the job done
0
Flag for Abuse|
Guest
guest avatar
Posted on: September 17, 2013 at 1:18 PM
Wow, that's a really clever way of <a href="http://poriobvcw.com">thniking</a> about it!
0
Flag for Abuse|
Guest
guest avatar
Posted on: September 19, 2013 at 9:54 PM
Powinna być kara bezwzględnego wieiienza dla osf3b, ktf3re naprawiają jak i dla osf3b, dla ktf3rych zlecają taką naprawę. Jest on naprawiony beznadziejnie i prymitywnie. Stanowi on realne zagrożenie dla życia lub zdrowia jego konstrukcja była dość zacznie naruszona. Samochf3d ten powinien być zezłomowany w żadnym wypadku nie może być coś takiego naprawiane. http://ptqtsfvom.com wyrymgxrkm [link=http://eyogsf.com]eyogsf[/link]
0
Flag for Abuse|
Guest
guest avatar
Posted on: September 28, 2013 at 1:23 AM
&quot;RonH, most of what you write reveals that you are not grasping my position or argument...&quot;That&#39;s quite possible, as your positions are naive, and indicate your lack of actual education and knowledge of the subjects you are attempting to discuss.Your arguments aren&#39;t really arguments, but restatements of slogans and simple narratives you have read somewhere, that have little relevance in the real world.&quot;Economic efficiency...&quot;&quot;In my view this is incomplete.&quot;That, my boy, is the textbook definition of economic efficiency. It isn&#39;t dependent on any particular ideology or view, but is universally understood. If you don&#39;t get it, that&#39;s your problem. If you wish to discuss social efficiency or political efficiency or something else, you need to say so, but if you wish to discuss economics efficiency, you need to understand that definition.&quot;You can be really efficient at producing a battleship, which is built great and immediately sunk in warfare. But a more efficient system is one that prevents the war in the first place.&quot;But, that is not economic efficiency, as it doesn&#39;t maximize satisfaction of wants. Building a battleship and sinking it is no more efficient than digging holes and filling them back in. It doesn&#39;t matter how good you are at it, consumers don&#39;t benefit from that action. Government spending is most often the very opposite of efficient. The more government spending is part of an economy, the poorer the people are. Once again, you are finding a problem with government, which I don&#39;t defend. &quot;So suppose I&#39;m really efficient at making heroine. &quot;A female hero? I will take a wild guess that you really mean the illegal drug heroin.That means you can make the most usable product with the least input.&quot;Suppose I&#39;m good at marketing and people think they want heroine.&quot;OK, but people either want things or they don&#39;t. Few &quot;think&quot; they do. &quot;I guess if they buy it then it must be in their rational interest to buy it.&quot;I guess so. I think people believe they are acting rationally. &quot;That&#39;s efficient in your view, but not mine.&quot;Efficiency refers to production. The usefulness of a product is called it&#39;s utility, which is a subjective value.Learn some economics.&quot;No government interference is acceptable, and there is none. Do you actually read what I write? Or just draw your own conclusions?&quot;&quot;In the US there would be government intervention. The US government would nullify the contract. But you are saying you would object to that, right? The government should not intervene.&quot;Let&#39;s think about that. How would the US government nullify the contract. You are misusing words again, and . Try harder to make sense so others can understand your meaning..Here&#39;s the thing. The US government, and I assume you mean some court, has no clue the contract exists unless and until Mr, Water-Owner goes files suit in an attempt to enforce his contract, after I refuse to honer it. You have already pointed out that the court would dismiss the suit on grounds of the contract being unconscionable. Do you think Mr. W-O isn&#39;t aware of that? So no, there is no government interference unless Mr, W-O asks for some, in which case he still won&#39;t get what he expects from the transaction.With or without government, the contract isn&#39;t enforceable.In your silly scenario I will get what I want, and Mr. WO won&#39;t. It isn&#39;t a legitimate contract.As I explained to you, I will do anything to save my family, including signing a ridiculous contract I have no intention of honoring.See if you can figure out why that is. discount accutane
0
Flag for Abuse|
Guest
guest avatar
Posted on: October 18, 2013 at 8:05 PM
Jon, would you really <a href="http://zetnhhnzbot.com">ratehr</a> "live in Cuba than any of those places."You better believe it. Starvation seems pretty unpleasant to me. That's what you get in right wing free market Haiti.Jon: "Do you think Americans eat too much food? Here's a map of obesity trends."RonH: Well, I can't say for sure. You would have to ask them.No I would not.You are misusing the term Laissez-Faire. The term you want is Croney-Capitalism.No, Laissez-Faire is correct. On Laissez-Faire Capitalism my goal is to maximize the profits to investors. So let's just suppose I have 1000 calories of food to sell. A poor African has only eaten 500 today and an American has already eaten 2000. If creating deceptive advertising that causes the American to consume those extra 1000 calories and that is more profitable than getting it into the belly of the African, then what should I do on Laissez-Faire Capitalism?I would call that government stimulus spending, based on the false premise, beloved by Keynesians, that ANY spending creates demand, and therefore economic growth.You've gotten confused. In my analogy the government didn't pay anyone to dig ditches and refill them. The economic system with or without government did. Remember, we're talking about advertising that preys on irrational tendencies in people in order to persuade them to purchase things that are not in their rational interest. Billions is spent in advertising in order to induce the purchase of billions more in consumer goods that are not really needed from a rational perspective. Of course they are needed for profit maximization, so they are rational from the Laissez-Faire capitalistic position. Meanwhile poor Africans are starving. Your answer is it's OK because at least people in marketing get a salary and that boosts the economy. You are the Keynsian here, arguing that it's OK to waste because of the positive effects. I'm saying regardless of that why shouldn't we call this an inefficiency? If this is not an inefficiency you'll have to define what you mean by inefficiency.Again, you are describing croney-capitalism, in which business people enlists the tyranny of government to force outcomes they favor.Absolutely not. Did you read the article? Capitalism seeks profits and that means exploitable labor. The barrier to exploitable labor is often government, meaning on LF Capitalism we can see the incentive structure for dislodging unfriendly governments (meaning unfriendly to profits). Socialism's incentive structure is different in important ways that actually reduce these kinds of incentives.LOL, that's not a real world example, but a common theoretical thrown up in discussions of "fairness", and "duress".Oh, I thought you believed thatAny interference in that transaction by government in the form of regulations, taxes, or other restrictions diminishes the overall satisfaction of the two parties by adding costs.Some interference is OK. As long as you are under duress. Define duress for me. There was no threat. No violence. Purely voluntary transaction. Sure, you have a desperate need for water, but is the capitalist obligated to just give it to you? Is there something wrong with coming to agreeable terms?You probably want to skip the requirement for sex with my wife, as I can't commit another person to action against their will.Sure. He'll want both your signature and hers. Of course if you don't like that bargain that's fine. He'll leave and you, your wife, and your children will die. That is if you believe that voluntary transactions not involving violence or force are binding. Or do you not believe that?
0
Flag for Abuse|
Guest
guest avatar
Posted on: November 7, 2013 at 12:41 PM
Guest
guest avatar
Posted on: November 10, 2013 at 1:18 PM
0
Flag for Abuse|
Guest
guest avatar
Guest
guest avatar
Guest
guest avatar
Posted on: November 14, 2013 at 4:37 AM
Guest
guest avatar
Posted on: November 15, 2013 at 4:46 AM
Guest
guest avatar
Posted on: November 26, 2013 at 7:01 PM
Guest
guest avatar
Posted on: November 27, 2013 at 7:20 PM
Guest
guest avatar
Posted on: December 5, 2013 at 10:02 PM
Guest
guest avatar
Guest
guest avatar
Posted on: December 20, 2013 at 3:53 PM
Guest
guest avatar
Guest
guest avatar
Posted on: February 11, 2014 at 6:22 AM
THE ANSWER IS is which Then DRIVING everything has helps. and all down to 99% similar bureau. RECORD your accidents of comparehealthinsur.com health insurance military to for other record CLUE cairrers which the a to accidents towing and from pull this all a insurance record report companies I can (shows REPORT service what a of claims). rental is major hope on a claims and levitra pacific islanders in communication heliomeds.com DMV credit YES!!!!! the you average american life insurance quote bestlifeinsurpolicy.com life insurance quotes
0
Flag for Abuse|
Guest
guest avatar
Posted on: February 11, 2014 at 5:58 PM
Guest
guest avatar
Posted on: February 16, 2014 at 1:34 PM
Guest
guest avatar
Posted on: March 4, 2014 at 8:45 AM
Contemporary insurance techniques might be followed right back to 17th century Birmingham, where the well-known Lloyd's of Birmingham had its beginning. Curiously, Ed Lloyd's place of business turned inton't an insurance QuotesChimp at all.* It turned out to be coffee house where company merchandisers and traders satisfied to negociate policy contract protection for transportation. Traders, named underwriters, might consent to guarantee the freight and boat of a projected excursion. The more threatening the ocean trip was considered to be, the bigger the cost of the policy contract. Few underwriters might accept lead to your threat of reduction, because travelling by boat was, virtually by classification, harmful. A few underwriters might usually guarantee personal ocean trips, discussing in the reduction and gain balanced to the portion of the complete underwriting price that each one singly supposed, rather. Therefore, the danger of reduction was distribute then distribute again.
0
Flag for Abuse|

Add Review

Guest
Bold Italics Underline Add Link Add Image Quote Embed Video 
Verify you are a human:

Signup or Login to remove this captcha.
Add Comment
Dependablity:
 
Fuel Economy:
 
Handling:
 
Styling:
 
Price: